Eighteen Berkeley Preparatory School Seniors Recognized by National Merit Program

Berkeley Preparatory School is honored to recognize four students who have been named as National Merit Semifinalists among approximately 16,000 students from across the country as part of the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program. In order to qualify as a Semifinalist, approximately 1.5 million juniors in 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). Semifinalists are the highest scorers in each of the 50 states and represent less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors.
In addition to Berkeley’s four National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, 12 students were named Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Program. A total of 34,000 students across the country earned this distinction and placed among the top five percent of the more than 1.5 million students who took the Preliminary SAT. Berkeley’s 12 Commended Students exceed last year’s total of eight named in the class of 2012.
Berkeley is also honored to recognize Isabella Araya ’13 who has been named as one of 3,100 Outstanding Participants in the National Achievement® Scholarship Program being referred to U.S. colleges and universities. Each year, outstanding National Achievement® Program participants, who represent the top three percent of more than 160,000 African American students considered for the 2013 National Achievement Program, are brought to the attention of more than 1,500 four-year colleges and universities in the United States.
In addition, one student in this year’s senior class has been honored by the College Board as a National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar. Emily Sasso ’13 was one of 5,000 Hispanic/Latino students iHispanacross the country who achieved a minimum PSAT score to earn the recognition.
Congratulations to the following Berkeley students:
Semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Competition
Alexandra Farthing
Carly Schippits
Ariana Tyler
Yunhan Xu
Commended Students for the 2013 National Merit Program
Mathew Caputo
Keely Chisholm
Michael Garcia
John Kennedy
Megan Magray
Francis Migliore
David Potts
Daniel Rovner
Kathleen Ryan
Corey Salzer
Adam Slakter
Adam Wolf
National Achievement® Program Outstanding Participants
Isabella Araya
National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars
Emily Sasso


4811 Kelly Road
Tampa, FL 33615
(813) 885-1673