Buccaneers Claim Seventh Consecutive Headmasters’ Challenge Victory

The annual contest featured 16 winter sports from Middle Division, junior varsity and varsity teams. Two points were awarded to varsity winners and one point was awarded to sub-varsity winners. The points were tallied throughout the day, and the winning school needed at least 11 points out of a possible 21 points to win the coveted Headmasters’ Cup.

This is the 11th time Berkeley has won or shared the Cup in the history of the competition. Berkeley won the Cup in 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014*,2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019. The cup will now stay at Berkeley for a year until the next Headmasters’ Challenge in 2020.

*In 2014, both schools scored an equal number of points and thus the cup was shared.
Founded in 1960, Berkeley is an independent, Episcopal, college-preparatory day school located in Tampa, FL, for boys and girls in grades Pre-Kindergarten through 12. Approximately 1,380 students gather here from the greater Tampa Bay area to form ONE Berkeley.